Greek Cookery Class

Greekfoodlovers' Supper Club

Bassekou Kouyate and Umbrella

The latest entries on my other blog at: http://www.myspace.com/elisavet_radio

include a short story on Bassekou Kouyate, a musician from Mali who plays the ngoni, a West African desert lute that sounds amazing. Even though he’s been playing music for many years and worked with Toumani Diabaté, Ali Farka Touré and Youssou N’dour, it is only sometime last year that we started hearing of his own solo debut album Segu Blue and his fantastic music. The blog also includes details of how to access the radio feature I have done about him, his music and the griot traditions of Mali online. The programme aired on radio yesterday, but is available for another 29 days on the internet. 

My second story on the same blog is about Rihanna’s song Umbrella and its many different versions of that R’n’B hit from last summer. 

Enjoy the read and have a good week!

Elisavet Sotiriadou

4 Comments»

  mapsadaisical wrote @

How many blogs do you need, eh?

Let me know next time this fella is playing in London, he sounds great. Been listening to another great Malian musician called Yoro Sidibe recently – very raw yet very hypnotic.

  Elisavet wrote @

Bassekou Kouyate & Ngoni ba to return to the UK for live dates

12 July – Bracknell Festival (3.30pm)
12 July – World Sounds @ St. Leonard’s Church, Tooting Bec Gardens, Streatham, London (part of Streatham Festival, http://www.streathamfestival.com), support by Brazilian solo percussionist Adriano Adewale
13 July – Rise Festival (London United Against Racism), Finsbury Park, London, http://www.risefestival.org
27 July – WOMAD Festival, Charlton Park, http://www.womad.org
30 July – BBC Awards for World Music Concert (part of the Proms), London, http://www.bbc.co.uk/proms/2008/whatson/3007.shtml
2 August – Cambridge Folk Festival, http://www.cambridgefolkfestival.co.uk

there are more dates in Wales and Manchester but I just included the London dates!

Will be looking forward to reading your review!

I only have this blog and the myspace blog, it is in the latter where I do my live reviews, here I try to write more about work stuff

  mapsadaisical wrote @

Thanks. I suppose I could have googled that really. I think I might aim for the finsbury park one.

I don’t use myspace so much any more…can I get myspace blogs on RSS? Sorry, I suppose I could google that too…

  Elisavet wrote @

Am not so well read on rss, but looks like if you go to the blog on myspace, click on any of the blog items or view all blog entries, then there is a tiny tiny menu at the top right part of the screen, just above the blog it says: home rss mail…

might be worth trying it out!!


Leave a Reply

